Showing An Interest/Product Awareness

I was delivering to a bakery today (miserable buggers, complained 'cos I’d arrived early) and baker starts on about “the flour doesn’t do xyz” when I told him “I just deliver it…No I idea how it’s made, no interest in baking etc etc.” Right or wrong attitude? :smiling_imp:
I’m not alone where I work in thinking this, out of nine drivers only one actually has any product knowledge or actually knows anything about/actually cares.
Does anyone else get involved product wise or as drivers do we just stick to what we know?

I’ll only want to know about something if it interests me.

m1cks:
I’ll only want to know about something if it interests me.

Me too mate. Like pay rises.

I was a baker for a bit too long,if he moans again tell him to add some malt extract to his doughs.When I had trouble with the flour I phoned the mill,dont know what a driver could do about it.

alamcculloch:
I was a baker for a bit too long,if he moans again tell him to add some malt extract to his doughs.When I had trouble with the flour I phoned the mill,dont know what a driver could do about it.

Ah that might explain why we send the odd sack of “malted concentrate” to places that buy our budget/lower grade flour. TBH I could take sacks of sand to them and I wouldn’t care. Knowing I can dump it and run without carrying it is far more appealing. Quoting “insurance reasons” when new customers ask for it to go downstairs is something I do show enthusiasm for (even if it’s bs :smiling_imp: ).

“We have a technical department who will be able to help you and their number is…, now do you want to accept delivery or not?”

Cotswoldcrunch:
I was delivering to a bakery today (miserable buggers, complained 'cos I’d arrived early) and baker starts on about “the flour doesn’t do xyz” when I told him “I just deliver it…No I idea how it’s made, no interest in baking etc etc.” Right or wrong attitude? :smiling_imp: