Help needed please

Im working for an agency & will be driving artic with digital tacho from tuesday. I have never used a digi card before & wondered if they are easy to use. Also i’ll be doing my first ever night out & was wondering when i park up for the night do i just end my day shift as usual & take the digi card out & then insert it when i start work the next day. Any advice from you more experienced truckers would be most grateful, many thanks in advance.

Yep, aside from the little menus (you can get a manual for the VDO/siemens one from the tacho forum) it works while you’re working just the same as any tray tacho. You pop the card in (chip upwards for the VDO ones, in the little tray for the other ones) enter your start country, and any manual entries for pretrips and the like, and off you go. Eject it overnight (with the engine on usually, or it won’t work) and you’ll be fine. Go for a printout, especially if you’re on agency.
Make sure there’s a spare printout roll in the cab somewhere, VOSA have been known to check for those.

I’m probably not the best to offer advice as i’ve only used mine a few times while i was on agency about a year ago, but seeing as no-one else has replied i’ll tell you the bit i know. You put the card in upside down i.e with your photo pointing down and the arrow pointing inwards. As it’s the cards 1st use it may say ‘error’ on the display. This happened to me and i don’t remember what i did! :blush: I think i pressed ‘ok’, ejected the card and tried again, and it worked. Just follow the instuctions on the screen. It’ll ask you your starting country, just scroll down to UK and press ‘ok’. After that i don’t remember sorry. There’s a friend of mine who does European work and he leaves his card in all the time. Just switches to ‘rest’ mode when he’s taking his 11 hours.

Not much i know, but i hope it helps.

allikat: