Yard Shunting

Hi everyone.
I was wandering if some of you experts could help and advise me.
I currently work as a yard shunter for a meat processing firm.
I hold a certificate compentance for LGV Shunting. :laughing:
we use 3 ERFs, a P reg EC11 and an older G reg E14( both 6x4) and an N reg 4x2 EC10. :cry:
the 2 6x4S are taxed as HGV/D im led to believe this is a restricted use, limited to 6 miles per week? (please correct me if i am wrong)
the 4x2 is not taxed and does not cross the road at all.
the 4x2 runs on red diesel, while the two 6x4s are on white.
the question i want to ask is how do i stand crossing a public road?
the weighbridge is on one side of the road, and the loading bays are the other.
the delivery drivers park their empty fridge trailers on the weighbridge side of the road to be unloaded, refuelled and washed, as this is where the fuel tanks, pressure wash and empty bins are unloaded.
i then have to take the empty fridge trailers across the road to be loaded, and then bring the loaded fridge trailers back to park and plug in to run on electric.
several of our delivery drivers have indicated to me that i should not cross the road at all, as i do not hold a current class1 (c+e)
i have done this job over 6 years and i am worried that i could be doing something illegal.
my employers assure me i am 100% legal, as the law states the shunting units are a non road going vehicle, so therefor its fine and im covered.
im more inclined to believe our delivery drivers, as they seem to know the law better than our transport officer!
please help.

is it litterally cross the road or is it a bit further than just crossing that tiny stretch of road?

Hi gogsy,

It is literally crossing the road.
at an angle :laughing:

It seems that you require a category N licence according to this information I found on the web.