When did the 'old days' end?

Tongue in cheek some respected drivers on here plus some pure idiots mention the old days.
Did end end with introduction of:
the tachograph
Dcpc
beds in trucks

Anyone any other ideas

2004, when the eu abandoned its decades-long policy of only allowing new member countries to join if their economies broadly approached that of existing members and instead allowed the whole of eastern Europe to join at once. The British continental haulage industry collapsed overnight.

A friend who I’ve known for over thirty years, and who I worked for for over ten years recently took an exhibition trailer to Amsterdam. He said afterwards “Not only was I the only British driver on the (Dover-Calais) ferry, I think I was the only western European driver on it”.

So for me, 1st May 2004 was “the day the music died”.

Good old days ended for me when I started driving for a living!!! Its wasn’t the same as riding in the passenger seat of my dads truck when I was younger.[emoji22]

articulated vehicles, ratchet straps, boxes, fridges, power steering, FM radio, colour tv

Around 1983 ish when Cab phones, and then later on trackers came out.
In the ‘old days’ you set off on a Monday and the boss said ring me ( pick a day of week :smiley: ) when you are tipped.

I’ll bite.