Traffic jam & break question

Hello All.

New member here with a first question, most likely the start of many!

What is the score with getting stuck in a traffic jam and being over the 4.5hr point? As I’m still relatively new to the scene I’ve only ever encountered this problem once. Let me explain further…

I joined the M25 clockwise from the M11 to come off at J30, I was about 40 mins from the 4.5hr point and also my drop off, as many of you will know this should of been plenty of time. Unfortunately I lost a bit of time at the roadworks then got held up at J28 with very slow moving traffic. At this point I still had 25 mins left and coming up to J29 it slowed right down again, I made the decision to stay on the road as I only had 6 miles to go, big big mistake! It turns out traffic was snarled up from J29 to at least J30 and I was stuck in it crawling along, my 25 mins counting down ever quicker!

Anyway, to cut a long and boring short, by the time I pulled into Tesco my driving time was showing as 5hrs 5 mins :frowning: Even although I was barely there the constant crawling all added up timewise.

Now, I know I ■■■■■■ up and made a stupid mistake and one which I have certainly learnt from but where do I stand 1.) WRT to downloading my card, should I ‘lose’ it or just download it and 2.) The rules appear to be very grey, just how much leeway is there in the above scenario?

thanks for reading!

No point losing your card, the info is stored in the tacho head for ever and a day any way, do a print out and write an explanation on the back, more informed people will be along shortly to give you the low down, oh, by the way, welcome aboard. :wink: