Start up

I am 21 and recently passed my class 1 and 2 tests and have been trying to find a job but as i have no previous experience (or as some companies are saying im not 23, Dont really know what being 23 has to do with anything) im starting to look at other options.

How hard would it be to get a grant (or finance) and buy my own truck and then find contracts and use
back-haul websites. Im trying to look at all my options, and im wondering how hard it would be to do everything myself?

If you have some advice then ill be very very thankful, im just getting sick of all the knock backs. Nick

I’m not negative by nature - but please don’t do it.

To get insurance would be a nightmare - I know - I was the youngest coach operator in the UK at 24 yrs old (a long time ago now) and it took all sorts of special meetings etc and a high cost to get insurance. And I’d been teaching PSV since I was 19!

Very few operators are making any serious profit and the margins are so low it’s a gamble on a week to week basis as to whether or not you’ll actually earn a wage.

So, once again, please think again.

Try getting a start on vans and working your way up. You’ll get there in the end.

I wish you the best of luck, no matter which path you decide to follow. Pete :laughing: :laughing:

thanks for the reply, im just trying to figure out what would be the best to do. I’ve heard that european owner drivers can make a good living and i keep seeing adverts for owner drivers

necronick7:
thanks for the reply, im just trying to figure out what would be the best to do. I’ve heard that european owner drivers can make a good living and i keep seeing adverts for owner drivers

Hi necronick7,

And…

:grimacing: CONGRATULATIONS on passing your LGV “C+E” test :smiley:
:smiley: :smiley: :grimacing: :smiley: :smiley: :grimacing: :smiley: :smiley: