Seeking Advice on Becoming an HGV Driver in the West Midlands

Hi everyone,

I’m currently working for the civil service earning around £35k a year. While my current job is flexible and well-paying, I have a strong desire to transition into a career as an HGV driver.

I have several years of experience as a bus driver, which I believe would be beneficial for this new path. I’m specifically looking for advice on how to secure a trainee HGV opportunity in the West Midlands.

Additionally, I’ve heard that there might be government bootcamps available that could potentially provide funding if I secure a provisional offer. Any guidance on how to navigate this process or recommendations on where to look for trainee opportunities would be greatly appreciated.

Also, if anyone knows of any potential employers based in the Black Country area, please let me know.

Thank you in advance for your help!

Regards
Dave

expect to do 12+hour days every day pretty much. if you really want to do it look at all the big companies near you that are always hiring they may have an apprentice scheme but read the fine print all the ones round here expect you to stay with them for a minimum of 2 years. If you dont like it your stuck there.

Why?

If you’ve been sold the idea of big earnings, it would take some considerable time to achieve that as a newbie.

If it’s the desire to drive a big vehicle, that soon wears off when you’re trying to get a very large vehicle down a very narrow road lined with parked cars to get to some small shop, who may then expect you to unload the goods onto their shopfloor - some places have even demanded the driver stack their shelves for them!

Your main issue would be that most companies are highly reluctant to employ new passes, this is an issue with reluctance on behalf of insurance companies to cover newbies - quite understandable IMO.