Salvesen? and driving assesment?

I made a speculative approach to an advert for a vacancy at my local christian salvesen depot at normanton. I have been contacted today and asked to go down on wednesday for a Driving assesment, Medical, And interview :open_mouth: :open_mouth:

Having just been really on the one contract :open_mouth: even though i am an agency driver at the moment leaves me with a couple of questions.

What are Salvesen like to work for? :question:
Do they do different types of work? :question:

What should i expect at this driving assesment? :question:

One good thing is they are fully aware of my limited experience on class one :blush: and still invited me to this so they shouldnt be expecting the earth (i hope)

Salvesens are OK. Straight running. Its pretty much all chilled/frozen.

A driving assessment will involve taking you out on a route with a bit of reversing back at the yard.

Bones:
What should i expect at this driving assesment? :question:

I’ve been on a few ‘assessments’ over the years and now , amongst other things, am a Fam Trg (Familiarisation Trainer). I also carry out driving assessments on new drivers and also on drivers who have been involved in any accident or incident (part of the post-accident procedures we are required to complete).

I would suggest that you treat the assessment the same as you did your test. Pay attention to detail (i.e. mirror checks, economical and controlled use of clutch - gears - accelerator etc). The main difference here is that there is no need to be ‘nervous’ as your experience will show through. The assessments I do include tacho’s and drivers hours regs, safely pick-up and drop-off a trailer etc.

Having said all that, I know that some assessors are not looking for ‘by the book’ driving, just a realistic approach to driving (which isn’t always the same as what the test requires!!) and safety.