New wiring loom on fh13

It looks like I shall have to pay for a new wiring loom on my 56 plate fh.
The wiring has burned out under the driver side footwell and the truck is FUBAR.
SO I wait untill tomorrow to find out.
crossroads truck and bus hav said the wires have melted to buggery,water ingress is being blamed.
So, has anyone experienced this, am I right to think that it is unacceptable for a 56 plate truck to need a new wiring loom.

As a DAF master tech, i have changed 15+ engine harnesses, all stems from cheap wiring.

The_DAF_Man:
As a DAF master tech, i have changed 15+ engine harnesses, all stems from cheap wiring.

Right!
thats funny,my last truck was a 95xf a really first class truck,and not for the first time i’m thinking i wish i still ran a daf. whatever!!!

Can the loom not be repaired?

for some reason the version 2 volvos have a habit of it, i have had to change 2 all on version 2

Version 2’s have terrible wiring I’ve got an 06 which has had issues with side lights its a LHD & the wiring sheeth under the passenger side was full of water & a few wires where rotting away, my mates got a 55 & he’s having problems on the passenger side of his too.

Fly sheet

Damned unreasonable roadranger. It’s not like a clutch plate or brake pads is it. you can ‘reasonably expect’ a wiring loom to last the life span of the truck. It would be pretty tough luck had it been a moving part, camshaft etc, but a wiring loom, nah, I’d expect a bit of help from Volvo on that one.
There is obviously a known issue with them.

I would have thought Volvo had a case to answer there, any idea if there is any history of anyone sucessfully getting Volvo to rectify the issue■■?

The conclusion to this little story is the truck was repaired without the need for a new loom.
To be fair, the repairer had the truck for four days(Inc the weekend) charged me 14 hours, I’m sure more than 14 hours was done, so Inc parts the bill will be just over £1000.