Lgv instructors

Would it be an idea to have a list of current LGV instructors who use this site on the NEW AND WANNABE DRIVERS forum?
It would be, of course, up to those instructors to add their names to the list.
I believe it would allow those who are asking for advice to know from where their TRAINING advice is coming from.

I don’t think that it is necessary.

There are varying ‘levels’ of instructor on this site; Wendy (Mothertrucker) is a full time instructor, I am a DSA registered instructor but don’t actually instruct that often nowadays, there may well be others who don’t even identify themselves as instructors. Bearing in mind that virtually any vocational licence holder can be deemed to be an ‘instructor’ (for like licence categories), you could say that 99% of site users are instructors.

Irrespective of a posters ‘official qualifications’, they may well be providing good quality advice to the newbies. It’s better that a clear and easy to understand reply is posted by a non-instructor than a muddle of difficult to understand waffle by a ‘qualified instructor’.

The title (usually self-given) of Driving Instructor does not give that person the carte blanche on good ideas & explanations!! :wink:

I agree with marcustandy, it’s totally unnecessary.

We have had experts give advice on the aspect of the job they are paid to do which has turned out to be totally wrong. Just because someone has a title or a specific job doesn’t mean they actually know what they are talking about.

One other reason why NO

if anyone is put up as an “official” expert and give wrong advice then there could be “some” comeback if it all goes horribly wrong, whereas a member giving an opinion cannot be deemed expert advice

Coffeeholic:
I agree with marcustandy, it’s totally unnecessary.