Interview Process and dress code

Hi Everyone,

I am a new driver and currently looking to register with some agencies and apply for full time Class 2 positions when advertised.

I was wondering what the appropriate dress code is for attending agencies and interviews (suit/smart casual/etc)?

Excuse my naivity, but this is all new to me.

Also, what is the interview process normally like? Is it quite formal and what kinds of questions do they ask?

Thanks in advance guys/gals! :slight_smile:

My other half who is a retail manager, and has done many interviews, says one of the most important things, is eye contact throughout. Never fidget or look at the floor.

Research the company you are going to be interviewed by if you are going for a full time job, as they may ask what you know about them.

I would say that if you are going for a driving job, then smart casual is the way. No jeans, trainers or t-shirts. Clean shirt, trousers and smart shoes. Take a hi viz as well just in case you are taken around on a tour of the place.

Be polite, and a firm handshake at the beginning and end, and thank them for their time as you leave.

As for agencies, a clean and tidy appearance as they tend to be less fussy and usually just want bums on seats.

Ken.

New, clean black work trousers, a shirt and clean boots will be enough. You need to look presentable, but also need to look like somebody doing the job would look like. You don’t need to wear a suit, this will just confuse most interviewers.

Agencies will give you a written (multi choice) test,regarding driving hours/regulations etc;so bone up on these.
You will also be asked questions like “Which motorways would you use to get from A to B ?”
Pretty simple stuff really…just remember that the M25 is the road to nowhere,and the M1 and M6 will get you somewhere eventually :wink: