Forum new member after advice

Hi all. I have recently had a chat with an owner driver who had a newish unit and trailer with a hiab on it, contracted to Tarmac. I didn’t have long to talk to him as we were both tipping at a builders merchant. Basically he was saying they are great to work for and blah blah blah. So it got an old desire to be an owner driver fired up in me again so I rang their HQ. They sent me an info pack which seems to concentrate totally on tippers and mixers but I’m assuming the lady I spoke to sent me the wrong pack. Anyway, I have been doing some research on this very forum about other places such as maritime who I was going to ring but after all the negative comments don’t think I’ll bother.

I have been a class one driver for 18 years, the last 10 being where I am currently employed. I enjoy my job most of the time because of the variety each day brings but am getting a bit wound up with how they are running the job into the ground since a merger 5 years ago. Not to mention being forced to use cr@ppy auto MAN’s because they don’t trust me with a shifter and clutch anymore [POUTING FACE]
Over my career I have done mostly tautliner and flat work but have done some fridges which I don’t like.
One thing I have never done and would absolutely love to do is heavy haulage but I don’t think there is anybody round my area, south yorks., that does it.
My question is am I totally insane even consider leaving a secure and half decent paid job albeit run by idiots and look at running my own truck through say Tarmac? I really am a total novice so if I pursue this dream I will be using you all for lots of advice.

nomiS36: