Driving time/tacho question

When you first put your digi card in at start of shift does it show your driving time in total as your driving along? I’m just wondering how u know to be accurate for breaks etc.

If it’s a seimens tacho (most are), just press the down arrow once. This will show your driving time!

I’ve never even seen a tacho! Haha I’m just asking because when/if I finally pass doesn’t seem to be much info on learning about tachos.

Try a simulator then! :smiley:

novadata.co.uk/det/5132/Digi … Simulator/

There are a few of them about, not sure which ones are better than others…

Tachos and drivers’ hours are regular courses of ours. We have introduced a new version of the course designed specifically for absolute newbies. Call for dates.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

All digital tachos will show how much driving time has been undertaken. BUT the way in which that is shown is different across the various makes and version of tachograph.

For instance, my old 2008 Stoneridge, showed on the main screen while driving, the number of hours and minutes counted up, you had driven since your last break. All well and good, stop before it hits 4:30

My new 2015 Stoneridge shows a count down of the number of minutes left until you need your next break.

Sounds like a trivial difference, but by god the new one is so much easier for planning times and breaks while you are driving!

F-reds:
All digital tachos will show how much driving time has been undertaken. BUT the way in which that is shown is different across the various makes and version of tachograph.

For instance, my old 2008 Stoneridge, showed on the main screen while driving, the number of hours and minutes counted up, you had driven since your last break. All well and good, stop before it hits 4:30

My new 2015 Stoneridge shows a count down of the number of minutes left until you need your next break.