Drivers Signal Code

Guys you will have to excuse my ignorance but I need some info, I have been driving since 1978 and I am still learning, now we all use our lights and indicators to signal one anothr on the road and the majority of drivers understand the sequence, but HOW do you signal oncomming traffic on the motorway that there is an accident or the motorway ahead is blocked get off at the next slip etc ?

I was comming from Newbury today towards London (between j12 and j13) an artic had gone through the side barrier into a slight ditch west bound but the traffic was some where in the region of five miles pluss at a complete standstill, there were lots of trucks heading west and could of avoided the situation if they had got off at j12, but I was not sure how to tell them, I dont have a breaker breaker 10.4 and dont have a big enough mouth to shout, I DID however flash my lights repeatedly at some of the company trucks I know but after getting funny looks I stopped, so what is the answer, does any one have a clue,

Unless you’ve got both got CBs or know each others phone numbers, you can’t do [zb]. Thumbs down signal can give a general idea of trouble ahead, but it usual signals for plod or vosa, not a closure. Certainly no trucker would turn off at the next slip because you’ve given a thumbs down signal anyway. Just get on with your job and let them sort themselves out.

Rob K:
Unless you’ve got both got CBs or know each others phone numbers, you can’t do [zb]. Thumbs down signal can give a general idea of trouble ahead, but it usual signals for plod or vosa, not a closure. Certainly no trucker would turn off at the next slip because you’ve given a thumbs down signal anyway. Just get on with your job and let them sort themselves out.

DIY

Don’t involve yourself :stuck_out_tongue: