ATTENTION ALL NEWBIES! How NOT to do it lol

I have just had one of those weeks!!
I have been pulling the same trailer for nearly 10 months except for the odd day here and there. Not one mark have I put on it, quite pleased I am with myself. A lovely Gray-Adams with a pallet carrier.
So on Monday, I am loading down at Avonmouth Docks. As I back onto the bay between two of those massive ‘guide’ bars they have, I am just slightly offline and the next thing is a crack as the brackets for my rear mudguard snap off :cry: one floppy mudguard now. So I get a rachet strap and do my best to tie it up (remembering I had had new tyres on that axle on the Friday) I leave there and as I head round the 25 for Teynham, the “Fat Controller” rings me up. Ermmmm, ******, a concerned motorist has just rung us … you have a mudflap hanging off :cry: Captured
On arriving at Teynham, the shunter helps me secure it once more and this looks a much better job!
The next day, I arrive at our depot in Venlo and by now, the guard is hanging off again. This is when I decide to take the thing right off! I end up sawing the front brackets off and throwing the whole lot in the pallet carrier.
By now, the ‘little man’ in Venlo in jumping up and down. You must be in Duisberg by 8pm to do the trailer swop and then bring it back here. He can’t make his mind up which trailer I am to take there. In the end I tell him I am taking my one there so they can load for me to pick up the following day. ok ok he says. just get going, you must get to Kassel tonight for a 7am tip :open_mouth: :open_mouth: Its now 705pm
NOW, how many of you have started dropping a trailer and stopped halfway thro?? and then changed your mind? cos thats exactly what I did. an absolute recipe for disaster!!
I walked round the trailer, wound the legs back up, knocked the park brake off and climbed in my cab. Didn’t I do something else I thought as I climbed back into the cab? YES, I HAD!!! I HAD PULLED THE BLOODY PIN!!!