Offer a job but the salary, I am unsure if it suppose to be like this?

I applied GXO Waltham Abbey on Totaljobs HGV Class 2 which says from £32k to £35k, the day we met for a chat, say that I lacked in experience because I had been driving for 9 months with the Agency, and she offered me £32k.

I am terrible in maths at school, but I am sure it is near the minimum wage, I went home and worked out £11.18 an hour if I worked 11 hours per day what the advert says.

£32000 / 52 weeks = £615.384615385
£615.384615385 ÷ 5 days = £123.076923077
£123.076923077 ÷ 11 hours = £11.1888111888

I thought the lorry was well paid, next month the minimum wage will rise to £11.44

What the heck??

Pay being dependent on experience is pretty common in every field of work.

It sounds like you’d been had by the government propaganda about big wages for truck driving, there are lots of poorly paid HGV jobs around because the “driver shortage” was a myth.

If you’d been prepared, you could have had some fun getting them to explain "how is a job driving an in-scope vehicle, therefore subject to Road Transport Directive, able to be advertised as 11 hours per day, which assuming a five day week would be a 55 hour week, which as there is no opt-out of the 48 hour average under RTD, would be an illegal advert, and surely a big name company like GXO would be aware of that? " :wink:

I’m sure they’re not that stupid (or am I sure? I dunno…) It may be that there’s something you haven’t been told or have misunderstood.

was the hours advertised on the advert or discussed at interview. either way i would be highly suspicious of 11 hour days

the job i had was hourly paid and the annual salary was worked out at some number of hours per week however in reality you did a hell of a lot more hours than stated