wincanton

Hi all
hows this for shoddy
got a call from agency this morning to be at Wincanton for 13.00
told to wait in canteen for a bit till they were ready
kept me waiting until 16.15
constantly told from then on be ready for you in 30 min
in the mean time a driver from another agency turned up (17.00) and left on his job (same class vehicle as I was waiting for)
18.00 rang agency and told them I’m going home
wincanton wanted me to do a full run when they could finally get me loaded
surely thats too long a day
did I wait too long before bailing or should I have stayed and done the run ?
now been told I might not get paid but I’ve got a signed timesheet to prove I was there so surely thats wrong ?

by the way I’m a new driver so not quite sure yet

Depending on what your hours are for that week you might have been able to get a 15hr day ££££ :wink:

If it were me & the day were to to over 15hrs then i probably would have called agancy & explained the situation, providing your with a good agency they probably would have said go home & let us deal with it & then billed the company for your time.

A good book, newspaper for the day etc are essentials in your kit bag for situations just like this! As an agency driver, you’re paid by the hour (I presume?) so sitting in the canteen is just as lucrative as getting off down the road. I’d have just sat there with a clear conscience, so long as I was giving them a gentle reminder every hour or so!! :wink:

Of course, if it’s a good quality and cheap canteen, that’s just the icing on the cake!!! :sunglasses: :sunglasses: :sunglasses:

jc69817:
got a call from agency this morning to be at Wincanton for 13.00…

…18.00 rang agency and told them I’m going home

You’ve already been there 5 hours and they haven’t loaded the vehicle yet.

Whatever Wincanton meant by “a full run” you can still only do another 10 hours.

Stan

Used to work for a supermarket and this was often the scenario. :laughing: