Living in a box?

Dan Glebitz here again. I’m writing another piece for Truck & Driver Magazine that gives top tips to new drivers. This month it’s all about cab living, nights away and the little secrets that the old hands use to make life away from home just that bit easier. So, what’s your top tip? And don’t say ‘stick to day work’! Any ideas used will naturally be attributed to he, or she, who posts it, and to TruckNet.
Cheers, Dan. Er, just to correct any misconceptions: I’m writing the piece myself (I was a full time driver at one time) and I thought I’d add a couple of gems from you lads still on the road. The piece isn’t a list of posts. If only life was that easy! Cheers, Dan

Put your clothes under your sleeping bag to stop them getting damp, prior to running your front wheels over your tarpaulin and sheeting yourself into the cab to keep warm at night :smiley:

Oh, hang about, we have cab heaters now, dont we :smiley: :smiley:

Always pinch sachets of sugar and cream from any food joint you frequent, so you never run out for your flask, haha :smiley:

Try to start early so you can finish early then you have the choice of parking spots.

W

WETWIPES, small, simple, but a must, and a life saver.
clothes and bedding, washbag, towel, and i’d def recomend flipflops, for showering, all these are obvious to, aswell as your own little first aid kit, flu capsules, headache tabs etc, can always come in handy.
satnav, (we also sometimes use things known as maps) :grimacing: some basic tools always handy.
after that, laptop, tv, etc, whatever floats your boat.

Imodium is a must, just in case you eat something that doesn’t agree with you.

Learn at least some basic cookery, especially if you are going to be away a week or two at a time. Snack pots and canned foods might be OK in an emergency, but after a full days work you really need a proper meal.